Still Thinkin'

No More Pressure: Make it Simple Stupid

In Uncategorized on January 14, 2011 at 2:04 am

Ever feel like life is sending you a thousand signs? Lately that is all that I have been feeling. It started somewhere around the time when I was reading the Alchemist in which the theory of beginners luck sort of served to be a prelude of the great things to come in that field. Next was Rich Dad, Poor Dad, in that book the author said “Often, in life its not the smart that get ahead but the bold.” Now maybe I am just adding value to these “signs” or making them just that “a sign” but isn’t that what life is all about? Perceptions.

My perception is usually just that I need to live up to some unmeasuremable standard, in anything that I do. I am seemingly what I like to call a jumper. While, I consider myself to be talented in several feilds I jump ship before a failure can make its presence known, then days, weeks or months later swim back only to make a guest apperance. Why is that? Well its because I am not making it simple stupid.

A good friend of mine asked me why I do not write on my blog often? My immediate response was crowded with a bunch of excuses. Particularliy circling around some idea that people expected to hear something more than I could perhaps give them.   He responded that “its damn near insane that you put so much value in your work but then worry about what value others would put in it” … I digress … All of that to say I have realized that it is not about sentence structure or trying to sound sophiticated, poetic, deep, witty etc. Its about me doing what I want … That thing I will do when I’m 70 years old with nothing else to do: Write.

So now while I go out and try and stick to that element that has probably always defined me I implore you to do the same! I can pay someone for sentence structure I can’t pay them for my thoughts 😉

– Special thanks to Small-Warner for the “brotherly conversation”

Leave a Reply

