Still Thinkin'

Open Your Mouth Wide ….

In life, Work on March 3, 2011 at 3:23 am

Nooooo I am not talking about the dentist, and get your mind out of the gutter because I am not talking about that either! πŸ™‚ …

Growing up, there was nothing that my mother couldn’t stand more than me mumbling. With a sharp eye she would tell me “Open your mouth and speak up”. Now, don’t have me mistaken, I was not a quiet child …. I COULD open up my mouth to make noise, I COULD open it to sing songs, and I COULD open it argue with my sister. Inconveniently, I could NOT open up my mouth and speak up when it counted and by that I mean when I wanted something that I was not confident that I would get.

At 5 years old, it was mumbling for candy, at ten mumbling to play down the street, at 15 mumbling to spend the night at a friend’s house and now at 23 I found/find myself ready to mumble at someone else. This time it is not my Mom … this time…. I can’t speak up to the person with the check book.

For anyone who is not familiar with me, let me give you a quick catch-up story: Hi my name is Sasha Kelly and I want to be a Director and an Actress. Sooooooo of course, you know, that means I am not a huge director nor actress right now, but what I am is a p.a. (aka a production assistant). While sometimes being a p.a. can seem like b*tch work …. it can also be extremely beneficial. Imagine, you’re standing on a very expensive set, with easy access to some big named industry people. IT’S GREAT!!!! …. But, that is only if you stand out. I usually try my hardest to stand out and more often than not … I succeed.

So then, Why am I still broke??? Well it’s because I don’t know how to open up my mouth wide and state what I would like! I show up everyday, do my best to go above and beyond what everyone ask of me, consistently, and yet never bring up anything about money. Heck, I would not think about paying me either since I seemingly like to work for free. But, now it’s time for me to speak up!

Knowing your value as an artist, as a person and as a professional is extremely important. Everyone is ready and waiting to devalue you …. so why give them a head start by not speaking up. This is where my problem stems from … I don’t know what my own professional/artistic value is and that one element made it extremely difficult for me to ask for anything until NOW.

What caused the change you ask? … Well, a while ago, while assisting someone on a job for FREE (which I did not mind at the time) I came across the budget sheet. To my utter and total shock, there in black and white, stated a day fee of $200.00 for my services, a fee that I never received during my time working with him. DO YOU KNOW HOW MANY DAYS I ASSISTED THIS PERSON!?!?!?! …. While I was mad at first, I realized that this was just a lesson for me. If I never speak up, how can I ever expect anything to change? this my friends is a lessons for all areas of life.

You have to claim what you want! Own it! OPEN YOUR MOUTH WIDE AND SAY __________________________ *You fill in the blank πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

